Two Votes Tell Us a Lot

In two cases of actions speaking truer than words I’d like to take a look at two recent votes in Congress. Many bills are tricky; you like some part(s) but something disturbs you. Often you end up holding your nose and voting for it. Others are just plain stinkers; another easy choice simply vote against the proposal. Then there are the no-brainers; you simply vote in the affirmative because the choice is so easy. Many congressional Republicans failed that simple task recently; 60 of them twice.

On Wednesday the House took up the Anti-Asian Hate Crimes bill. Officially 62 Republicans cast votes against it. Veteran Representative Tom Cole of Oklahoma was recorded as a nay but says that he cast that vote by mistake. I’ll let you determine whether you buy that excuse or not. Here are the other 61.

Robert Aderholt, Mo Brooks, Jerry Carl, Barry Moore and Gary Palmer of Alabama, Rick Allen, Andrew Clyde, Marjorie Taylor Greene, Jody Hice and Barry Loudermilk of Georgia, Jodey Arrington, Brian Babin, Michael Cloud, Louie Gohmert, Lance Gooden, Ronny Jackson, August Pfluger, Chip Roy and Randy Weber of Texas, Jim Banks of Indiana, Andy Biggs and Paul Gosar of Arizona, Dan Bishop, Ted Budd, Madison Cawthorn, Virginia Foxx and David Rouzer of North Carolina, Lauren Boebert of Colorado, Tim Burchett, Mark Green, Diana Harshbarger and John Rose of Tennessee, Kat Cammack, Byron Daniels, Matt Gaetz, John Rutherford and Greg Steube of Florida, Warren Davidson and Jim Jordan of Ohio, Jeff Duncan, Nancy Mace, Ralph Norman and Tom Rice of South Carolina, Bob Good of Virginia, Michael Guest, Trent Kelly and Steve Palazzo of Mississippi, Andy Harris of Maryland, Kevin Hern of Oklahoma, Yvette Herrell of New Mexico, Clay Higgins and Mike Johnson of Louisiana, Doug LaMalfa and Tom McClintock of California, Tracey Mann of Kansas, Thomas Massie of Kentucky, Mary Miller of Illinois, Alex Mooney of West Virginia, Scott Perry of Pennsylvania, Matt Rosendale of Montana along with Tom Tiffany of Wisconsin.

All of the above think it is perfectly fine to commit violent crimes against Asian-Americans. This bill has been signed into law by President Biden. First it stopped in the Senate where it passed 94-1. The lone nay vote was cast by Republican Josh Hawley of Missouri.

Last week the House took up a bill to set up an independent commission to explore the events of January 6th where Trump aligned domestic terrorists seized the Capital Building. It passed 252-175-3. 175 Republicans voted against it. It is yet to come to the Senate floor where the chances of it passing do not look good. There is more to this story that I’m certain I will cover in the future. For now, here are the 175. You will notice 60 of the names are the same.

Robert Aderholt, Mo Brooks, Jerry Carl, Barry Moore, Gary Palmer and Mike Rogers of Alabama, Rick Allen, Buddy Carter, Andrew Clyde, Drew Ferguson, Mike Garcia, Marjorie Taylor Greene, Jody Hice, Barry Loudermilk and Austin Scott of Georgia, Mark Amodei of Nevada, Kelly Armstrong of North Dakota, Jodey Arrington, Brain Babin, Kevin Brady, Michael Burgess, John Carter, Michael Cloud, Dan Crenshaw, Pat Fallon, Louie Gohmert, Lance Gooden, Kay Granger, Ronny Jackson, Michael McCaul, Troy Nehls, August Pfluger, Chip Roy, Pete Sessions, Beth Van Duyne, Randy Weber and Roger Williams of Texas, James Baird, Jim Banks, Larry Bucshon, Greg Pence, Victoria Spartz and Jackie Walorski of Indiana, Troy Balderson, Steve Chabot, Warren Davidson, Bob Gibbs, Bill Johnson, Jim Jordan, Robert Latta, Michael Turner and Brad Wenstrup of Ohio, Andy Barr, James Comer, Brett Guthrie, Thomas Massie and Harold Rogers of Kentucky, Jack Bergman, Lisa McClain, John Moolenaar and Tim Walberg of Michigan, Andy Biggs, Paul Gosar and Debbie Lesko of Arizona, Gus Bilirakis, Vern Buchanan, Kat Cammack, Mario Diaz-Balart, Byron Donalds, Neal Dunn, Scott Franklin, Matt Gaetz, Brian Mast, Bill Posey, John Rutherford, Gregory Steube and Michael Waltz of Florida, Dan Bishop, Ted Budd, Madison Cawthorn, Virginia Foxx, Richard Hudson, Patrick McHenry, Greg Murphy and David Rouzer of North Carolina, Lauren Boebert, Ken Buck and Doug Lamborn of Colorado, Mike Bost, Darin LaHood and Mary Miller of Illinois, Tim Burchett, Scott DesJarlais, Chuck Fleischmann, Mark Green, Diane Harshbarger, David Kustoff and John Rose of Tennessee, Ken Calvert, Jared Huizenga, Darrell Issa, Young Kim, Doug LaMalfa, Kevin McCarthy, Tom McClintock, Devin Nunes, Jay Obernolte and Michael Steel of California, Ben Cline, Bob Good, Morgan Griffith and Robert Wittman of Virginia, Tom Cole, Kevin Hern, Frank Lucas and Markwayne Mullin of Oklahoma, Rick Crawford and Bruce Westerman of Arkansas, Jeff Duncan, Nancy Mace, Ralph Norman, William Timmons and Joe Wilson of South Carolina, Tom Emmer, Michelle Fischbach, Jim Hagerdorn and Pete Stauber of Minnesota, Ron Estes, Jake LaTurner and Tracey Mann of Kansas, Randy Feenstra and Ashley Hinson of Iowa, Scott Fitzgerald, Mike Gallagher, Glenn Grothman, Bryan Steil and Tom Tiffany of Wisconsin, Russ Fulcher of Idaho, Garrett Graves, Clay Higgins, Mike Johnson, Julia Letlow and Steve Scalise of Louisiana, Sam Graves, Vicky Hartzler, Billy Long, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Jason Smith and Ann Wagner of Missouri, Andy Harris of Maryland, Yvette Herrell of New Mexico, John Joyce, Fred Keller, Mike Kelly, Daniel Meuser, Scott Perry, Lloyd Smucker, Guy Reschenthaler and Glenn Thompson of Pennsylvania, Trent Kelly and Steve Palazzo of Mississippi, Nicole Malliotakis, Elise Stefanik, Claudia Tenney and Lee Zeldin of New York, Carol Miller and Alex Mooney of West Virginia, Burgess Owens and Chris Stewart of Utah, Cathy McMorris Rodgers of Washington, Matt Rosendale of Montana, Adrian Smith of Nebraska along with Don Young of Alaska.

The above 175 think it is perfectly fine to attack the Capital Building. In fact, some contend that basically nothing happened other than a bunch of orderly tourists trying to hug and kiss the Capital Police.

It is much more labor intensive to list all the names and the states they represent. Remember this site is searchable. Both are done so you can use this site as a voter guide. Please do so!

This article is the property of and its content may not be used without citing the source. It may not be reproduced without the permission of Larry Marciniak.