The Anti Democracy Party

On September 21, 2022 the House voted on the Presidential Election Reform Act. Basically, it plugs many of the loopholes that Donald Trump tried to exploit to overturn the free and fair election he lost in 2020. The vote was 229 in favor, 203 opposed and one not voting. Nine Republicans joined all 220 Democrats who voted in voting for the resolution. The nine Republicans who also voted for democracy are all leaving Congress at the end of this term. All 203 of the other Republicans (most of whom are on the 2022 ballot) voted against the resolution and in the process American democracy.

If I need to get into more detail, you really don’t belong reading as sophisticated of a political column as this one. Here are the 203: Robert Aderholt, Mo Brooks, Jerry Carl, Barry Moore, Gary Palmer and Mike Rogers of Alabama, Rick Allen, Buddy Carter, Andrew Clyde, Drew Ferguson, Marjorie Taylor Greene, Jody Hice, Barry Loudermilk of Georgia,  Austin Scott, Mark Amodei of Nevada, Kelly Armstrong North Dakota, Jodey Arrington, Brian Babin, Kevin Brady, Michael Burgess, John Carter, Michael Cloud, Dan Crenshaw, Jake Ellzey, Pat Fallon, Maya Flores, Carlos Gimenez, Louie Gohmert, Tony Gonzales, Lance Gooden, Kay Granger, Ronny Jackson, Michael McCaul, Troy Nehls, August Pflunger, Chip Roy, Pete Sessions, Van Taylor, Beth Van Duyne, Michael Waltz and Roger Williams of Texas, Don Bacon, Mike Flood and Adrian Smith of Nebraska, James Baird, Jim Banks, Larry Bucshon, Trey Hollingsworth, Greg Pence, Mike Simpson and Vicky Spartz of Indiana, Troy Balderson, Mike Carey, Steve Chabot, Warren Davidson, Bob Gibbs, Bill Johnson, Jim Jordan, David Joyce, Robert Latta, Michael Turner and Brad Wenstrup of Ohio, Andy Barr, James Comer, Brett Guthrie, Thomas Massie and Harrold Rogers of Kentucky, Cliff Bentz of Oregon, Jack Bergman, Lisa McClain, Daniel Meuser, John Moolenaar and Tim Walberg of Michigan, Stephanie Bice, Tom Cole, Kevin Hern, Frank Lucas and Markwayne Mullin of Oklahoma, Andy Biggs, Paul Gosar, Debbie Lesko, David Schweikert and Bruce Westerman of Arizona, Gus Bilirakis, Vern Buchanan, Kat Cammack, Mario Dias-Balart, Byron Donalds, Neal Dunn, Ron Estes, Scott Franklin, Matt Gaetz, Brain Mast, Bill Posey, John Rutherford, Maria Salazar, Gregory Steube and Daniel Webster of Florida, Dan Bishop, Ted Budd, Madison Cawthorn, Virginia Foxx, Richard Hudson, Greg Murphy and David Rouzer of North Carolina, Lauren Boebert, Ken Buck and Doug Lamborn of Colorado, Mike Bost, Rodney Davis, Darin LaHood and Mark Miller of Illinois, Tim Burchett and Russ Fulcher of Idaho, Ken Calvert, Connie Conway, Mike Garcia, Jarred Huizenga, Darrell Issa, Young Kim, Doug LaMalfa, Kevin McCarthy, Tom McClintock, Jay Obernolte, Michelle Steel and David Valadao of California, Ben Cline, Bob Good and Robert Wittman of Virginia, Rick Crawford French Hill and Steve Womack of Arkansas, John Curtis, Blake Moore, Burgess Owens and Chris Stewart of Utah, Scott DesJarlais, Chuck Fleishmann, Mark Green, Diane Harshbarger, David Kustoff and John Rose of Tennessee, Jeff Duncan, Nancy Mace, Ralph Norman, William Timmons and Joe Wilson of South Carolina, Tom Emmer, Brad Finstad, Michelle Fischbach and Pete Stauber of Minnesota, Randy Feenstra, Ashley Hinson and Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Iowa, Scott Fitzgerald, Mike Gallagher, Glenn Grothman, Bryan Steil and Tom Tiffany of Wisconsin, Brian Fitzpatrick, John Joyce, Fred Keller, Mike Kelly, Scott Perry, Guy Reschenthaler, Lloyd Smucker and Glenn Thompson of Pennsylvania, Andrew Garbarino, Nicole Malliotakis, Joe Sempolinski, Elise Stefanik, Claudia Tenney and Lee Zeldin of New York, Garret Graves, Clay Higgins, Mike Johnson, Julia Letlow of Steve Scalise of Louisiana, Sam Graves, Vicky Hartzler, Billy Long, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Jason Smith and Ann Wagner of Missouri, Morgan Griffith, David McKinley, Carol Miller of Alex Mooney of West Virginia, Michael Guest, Trent Kelly and Steve Palazzo of Mississippi, Andy Harris of Maryland, Yvette Harrell of New Mexico, Dusty Johnson of South Dakota, Jake LaTurner and Tracey Mann of Kansas, Dan Newhouse and Cathy McMorris Rodgers of Washington, Matt Rosendale of Montana along with Chris Smith and Jeff Van Drew of New Jersey.

The bill’s fate in the Senate is uncertain at this writing. In order to overcome a certain filibuster, it will need ten Republican votes. To the 203 being in Donald Trump’s good graces is far more important than your vote or our democracy! Keep that in mind as you vote in the 2022 mid-term election.

This article is the property of and its content may not be used without citing the source. It may not be reproduced without the permission of Larry Marciniak.