Sunday – Part II

Thursday afternoon the House found Steve Bannon in contempt for refusing to comply with a House subpoena. The vote was 229-202-1. All 202 nay votes were cast by Republicans. 9 of the 229 ayes were cast by Republicans, one was very interesting! Even one of the nine reeked of bad intent. The lone vote not cast may be the most interesting and telling of all. Read on.

Nancy Mace, Republican of South Carolina voted aye because she wanted to subpoena Joe Biden in the future. Right vote; wrong reason Nancy!

The only member of the House not casting a vote was Republican Greg Pence of Indiana. Yes, he is the brother of former Vice President Mike Pence as in, “Hang Mike Pence”. Without getting into weeds that my readers are almost universally familiar with, the underlying affair is the insurrection of 1/6. Could this have been Greg Pence’s cowardly way of “splitting the baby” between loyalty to his brother and fear of Donald Trump? It sure looks like it.

The last time someone defied a House subpoena and it went to the House floor for contempt was in 1983 and the person in question was Reagan administration official Rita Lavelle. The vote to uphold the subpoena and hold Ms. Lavelle in contempt was 231-0. A nay vote was a combination of un-American and insane. The Constitution set up three theoretically co-equal branches of government. In order to achieve that co-equal state a system of checks and balances was instituted. A Congressional subpoena is one of the ways of compelling an executive branch agent (which Bannon is claiming to be) to testify and thereby exercise some oversight as to executive branch activity.

When complying with a House subpoena become optional instead of obligatory (which is what happens if it is not enforced) it becomes meaningless. Why would a sane member of the House vote to render their actions meaningless?

To help partially fulfill the voter guide service that provides here is a listing of the 202 un-American idiots. Robert Aderholt, Mo Brooks, Jerry Carl, Barry Moore, Gary Palmer and Mike Rodgers of Alabama, Rick Allen, Buddy Carter, Andrew Clyde, Drew Ferguson, Marjorie Taylor-Greene (removed from all committee assignments by the House), Jody Hice, Barry Loudermilk and Austin Scott of Georgia, Mark Amodei of Nevada, Kelly Armstrong of North Dakota, Jodey Arrington, Brian Babin, Kevin Brady, Michael Burgess, John Carter, Michael Cloud, Dan Crenshaw, Jake Ellzey, Pat Fallon, Louie Gohmert, Lance Gooden, Kay Granger, Ronny Jackson, Michael McCaul, Troy Nehls, August Pfluger, Chip Roy, Pete Sessions, Van Taylor, Betty Van Duyne, Randy Weber and Roger Williams of Texas, Don Bacon, Jeff Fortenberry (resigned from all committees in the wake of multiple felony indictments) and Adrian Smith of Nebraska, James Baird, Jim Banks, Larry Bucshon, Tim Burchett, Trey Hollingsworth, Victoria Spartz and Jackie Walorski of Indiana, Troy Balderson, Steve Chabot, Warren Davidson, Bob Gibbs, Tony Gonzales, Bill Johnson, Jim Jordan, David Joyce, Robert Latta, Michael Turner and Brad Wenstrup of Ohio, Andy Barr, James Comer, Brett Guthrie, Thomas Massie and Harold Rogers of Kentucky, Cliff Bentz of Oregon, Jack Bergman, Lisa McClain, John Moolenaar and Tim Walberg of Michigan, Stephanie Bice, Tom Cole, Kevin Hern, Frank Lucas and Markwayne Mullin of Oklahoma, Andy Biggs, Paul Gosar, Debbie Lesko, David Schweikert and Bruce Westerman of Arizona, Gus Bilirakis, Vern Buchanan, Kat Commack, Mario Diaz-Balart, Byron Donalds, Neal Dunn, Scott Franklin, Matt Gaetz, Carlos Gimenez, Brian Mast, Bill Posey, John Rutherford, Maria Salazar, Gregory Steube, Michael Waltz and Daniel Webster of Florida, Dan Bishop, Ted Budd, Madison Cawthorn, Virginia Foxx, Richard Hudson, Patrick McHenry, Greg Murphy and David Rouzer of North Carolina, Lauren Boebert, Ken Buck and Doug Lamborn of Colorado, Mike Bost, Rodney Davis, Darin LaHood and Mary Miller of Illinois, Ken Calvert, Garrett Graves, Clay Higgins, Mike Johnson, Julia Letlow and Steve Scalise of Louisiana, Rick Crawford, French Hill and Steve Womack of Arkansas, John Curtis, Blake Moore, Burgess Owens and Chris Stewart of Utah, Jeff Duncan, Ralph Norman, Tom Rice, William Timmons and Joe Wilson of South Carolina, Tom Emmer, Michelle Fischbach, Jim Hagedorn and Pete Stauber of Minnesota, Ron Estes, Jake LaTurner and Tracey Mann of Kansas, Randy Feenstra, Ashley Hinson and Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Iowa, Russ Fulcher and Mike Simpson of Idaho, Scott Fitzgerald, Mike Gallagher, Glenn Grothman, Bryan Steil and Tom Tiffany of Wisconsin, Andrew Garbarino, Chris Jacobs, Nicole Malliotakis, Tom Reed, Elise Stefanik, Claudia Tenney and Lee Zeldin of NewYork, Chuck Fleischmann, Mark Green, Diane Harshbarger, David Kustoff and John Rose of Tennessee, Mike Garcia, Jared Huizenga, Darrell Issa, Young Kim, Doug LaMalfa, Kevin McCarthy, Tom McClintock, Devin Nunes, Jay Obernolte, Michael Steel and David Valadao of California, Bob Good, Morgan Griffith and Robert Wittman of Virginia, Sam Graves, Vicky Hartzler, Billy Long, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Jason Smith and Ann Wagner of Missouri, Michael Guest, Trent Kelly and Steven Palazzo of Mississippi, Andy Harris of Maryland, Yvette Herrell of New Mexico, Dusty Johnson of South Dakota, John Joyce, Fred Keller, Mike Kelly, Daniel Meuser, Scott Perry, Guy Reschenthaler, Lloyd Smucker and Glenn Thompson of Pennsylvania, David McKinley, Carol Miller and Alex Mooney of West Virginia, Dan Newhouse and Cathy McMorris Rodgers of Washington, Chris Smith and Jeff Van Drew of New Jersey, Matt Rosendale of Montana along with Don Young of Alaska.

The 202 proved they will not defend democracy, the Constitution nor Congress if it necessitates that they defy Donald Trump.  That is beyond sad!

This article is the property of and its content may not be used without citing the source. It may not be reproduced without the permission of Larry Marciniak.