181 Unpatriotic Enablers

This may be the most boring to read article I will write in 2019 but Tuesday’s vote in the House of Representatives has me angry. Let’s explore.

On Tuesday the House voted not to overturn President Trump’s veto of his national emergency declaration. A two-thirds vote was needed to overturn the veto and make the Senate (where another two-thirds majority was needed) acted on the measure. The measure while gaining an overwhelming majority failed to reach the required margin in a 248-181-3 vote. 14 Republicans joined all 234 Democrats who were present to overturn Trump’s veto. All 181 votes to side with Trump and ignore the Constitution came from Republicans. I will conclude this article by listing them alphabetically by state. (That is the boring, but in my mind necessary part.)

The immediate issue was Trump taking money that Congress appropriated for other purposes and using it to build his zany wall along the Mexican border. The much more important issue is defending the Constitution which gives the power of the purse to the Congress. Keep in mind that Congress has specifically denied Trump the funding for this project during his entire time in office even when his party controlled both the House and the Senate. Recently Trump shut down the government for more than a month in an unsuccessful attempt to force Congress to give him the funding. Comparing this to parenting, this is like you specifically telling your child not to do something only for them to defy you by doing it anyway. Am I the only one who thinks comparing Trump to a spoiled, defiant brat is so fitting?

Some of the 181 come from safe red districts but many do not, especially in what should be a high turnout, blue election.   If you are toying with the idea of running for Congress check out the list below for a possible “job opening”. Part of what we learned (or should have re-learned) in 2018 is that candidates matter and there are a plethora of good job opportunities.

In the interest of complete disclosure and for the record the three absent Representatives were Democrat Jackie Speier of California along with Republicans Kay Granger of Texas and Joe Wilson of South Carolina.


Robert Aderholt

Mo Brooks

Bradley Byrne

Gary Palmer

Martha Roby

Mike Rodgers



Don Young



Andy Biggs

Paul Gosar

Debbie Lesko

David Schweikert



Rick Crawford

French Hill

Bruce Westerman

Steve Womack



Ken Calvert

Paul Cook

Duncan Hunter (currently under felony indictment)

Doug LaMalfa

Kevin McCarthy

Tom McClintock

Devin Nunes



Ken Buck

Doug Lamborn

Scott Tipton



Gus Bilirakis

Vern Buchanan

Mario Diaz-Belart

Neal Dunn

Matt Gaetz

Brian Matt

Bill Posey

John Rutherford

Ross Spano

Gregory Steube

Michael Waltz

Daniel Webster

Ted Yoho



Rick Allen

Bud Carter

Doug Collins

Drew Ferguson

Tom Graves

Judy Hice

Barry Loudermilk

Austin Scott

Robert Woodall



Russ Fulcher

Mike Simpson



Mike Bost

Rodney Davis

Adam Kinzinger

Darrin LaHood

John Shimkus



James Baird

Jim Banks

Susan Brooks

Larry Bucshon

Scott DesJarlias

Trey Hollinsworth

Greg Pence

Jackie Walorski



Steve King



Ron Estes

Roger Marshall

Steve Watkins



Andy Barr

James Comer

Brett Guthrie

Harold Rogers



Ralph Abraham

Garret Graves

Clay Higgins

Mike Johnson

Steve Scalise



Andy Harris



Jack Bergman

Bill Huizenga

Paul Mitchell

John Moolenaar

Tim Walberg



Tom Emmer

Jim Hagerdorn

Pete Stauber

Ann Wagner



Sam Graves

Vicky Hartzler

Billy Long

Blaine Luethermeyer

Jason Smith



Michael Guest

Trent Kelly

Steve Palazzo



Greg Gianforte



Don Bacon

Jeff Fortenberry

Adrian Smith



Mark Amodei


New Jersey:

Chris Smith


New York:

Chris Collins (currently under felony indictment)

Peter King

Tom Reed

Lee Zeldin


North Carolina:

Ted Budd

Virginia Foxx

George Holding

Richard Hudson

Patrick Mc Henry

Mark Meadows

David Rouzer

Mark Walker


North Dakota:

Kelly Armstrong



Troy Balderson

Steve Chabot

Warren Davidson

Bob Gibbs

Anthony Gonzalez

Bill Johnson

Jim Jordan

David Joyce

Robert Latta

Steve Stivers

Michael Turner

Brad Wenstrup



Tom Cole

Kevin Hern

Frank Lucas

Markwayne Mullin



John Joyce

Mike Kelly

Daniel Meuser

Scott Perry

Guy Reschenthaler

Lloyd Smucker

Glenn Thompson


South Carolina:

Jeff Duncan

Ralph Norman

Tom Rice

William Timmons



Tim Burchett

Chuck Fleishmann

Mark Green

David Kustoff

Phil Roe

John W. Rose



Jodey Arrington

Brian Babin

Kevin Brady

Michael Burgess

John Carter

Michael Cloud

Michael Conaway

Dan Crenshaw

Bill Flores

Louie Gohmert

Lance Gooden

Kenny Marchant

Michael McCall

Pete Olson

John Ratcliffe

Chip Roy

Van Taylor

Mac Thornberry

Randy Weber

Roger Williams

Ron Wright



Rob Bishop

John Curtis

Chris Stewart



Ben Cline

Morgan Griffith

Denver Rigglemann

Robert Wittman



Dan Newhouse


West Virginia:

David McKinley

Carol Miller

Alex Mooney



Sean Duffy

Glenn Grothmann

Bryan Steil



Liz Cheney


This article is the property of tellthetruthonthem.com and its content may not be used without citing the source. It may not be reproduced without the permission of Larry Marciniak.